City Council Wards and Sub-councils

A Sub-Council is made up of a cluster of municipal wards and represents a community. These are significant entities within the structure and governance of Cape Town suburbs, given the DA policy of devolving responsibility downwards to the communities in which matters are occuring of public importance. Property development is a good example of how these structures, ie the community, are included in the decision-making process.

Newlands is represented by Wards 59 which falls within the Protea Sub-Council 20. The Sub-Council reports directly into the Mayoral Council.

The NRA ensures representation of Newlands residents within this body.

Councillors are available to discuss any issues of concern:

  • Ward 59 residents should contact:

Ian Iversen – Office: 021 762 3400, Fax: 086 515 9624, Cell: 083 629 7051,